Daily Archives: August 28, 2012

Postcode in Malaysia


Postal codes in Malaysia

Postal codes in Malaysia are five digit numeric. The first two digits of the postal code denote the state or special administrative area (e.g. 42000 Port Klang, Selangor).
Listed below are the first 2 digits of codes assigned to each state and special administrative area. The state capital is indicated in the brackets.
2-digit postcode areas Malaysia(defined through the first two postcode digits)
Federal Territories (Wilayah Persekutuan)
Kuala Lumpur uses codes from 50xxx to 60xxx (Including a few areas such as Taman Melawati, Bukit Lanjan, Pandan Indah which are actuall==
Putrajaya uses codes 62xxx
  • Selangor (Shah Alam) uses codes from 40xxx to 48xxx, 62xxx to 64xxx (except 49×00 for Fraser's Hill) and 68xxx (A few areas such as Taman Melawati, Bukit Lanjan, Pandan Indah are under Kuala Lumpur)
  • Terengganu (Kuala Terengganu) uses codes from 20xxx to 24xxx
  • Sarawak (Kuching) uses codes from 93xxx to 98xxx
  • Sabah (Kota Kinabalu) uses codes from 88xxx to 91xxx
  • Kedah (Alor Setar) uses codes from 02xxx and 05xxx to 09xxx
  • Kelantan (Kota Bharu) uses codes from 15xxx to 18xxx
  • Negeri Sembilan (Seremban) uses codes from 70xxx to 73xxx
  • Pulau Pinang (Georgetown) uses codes from 10xxx to 14xxx
  • Johor (Johor Bahru) uses codes from 80xxx to 86xxx
  • Melaka (Melaka) uses codes from 75xxx to 78xxx
  • Perlis (Kangar) uses codes from 01xxx
  • Perak (Ipoh) uses codes from 30xxx to 36xxx and 39xxx (except 39xxx for Cameron Highlands)
  • Pahang (Kuantan) uses codes from 25xxx to 28xxx, 39xxx for Cameron Highlands, 49xxx for Fraser's Hill and 69xxx for Genting Highlands
See top menu…